Washington Capitals History: Selke Trophy Winners

Mandatory Credit: Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

The NHL Awards Ceremony is in Las Vegas on June 24th. During that ceremony, the NHL award winners will be announced. Yesterday, we took a look at the Washington Capitals and their history with the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy. Today, to get Washington Capitals fans prepared for the NHL awards ceremony, let’s take a look at the history of the Selke Trophy and the Washington Capitals. 

RELATED: Washington Capitals 2014-2015 Team Awards

The Frank J. Selke Trophy is awarded to the National Hockey League forward who demonstrates the most skill in the defensive component of the game. In their 40 year history, the Washington Capitals have had one player win the Selke Trophy. Center Doug Jarvis won it back in the 1983-1984 season. In that season, he had 42 points and a plus/minus rating of +7. This year’s Selke finalists are Patrice Bergeron of the Bruins, Anze Kopitar of the Kings and Jonathan Toews of the Blackhawks. 

The Washington Capitals have two forwards this year who I could see getting Selke Trophy votes. Eric Fehr was a great third line center for the Washington Capitals. He took on very tough competition and had the lowest offensive zone start percentage on the Caps. Despite that, he was still a positive possession player and added 33 points. I could definitely see Nicklas Backstrom get some as well. He re-emerged as one of the top centers in the NHL this season.

The Washington Capitals have had several players place in the top 10 of the Selke Trophy voting. In the 1981-1982 season, Ryan Walter finished eighth. In the 1982-1983 season and the 1986-1987 season, Bobby Gould finished third. Jarvis almost won it again in the 1984-1985 season, but he finished second to Craig Ramsey. Bengt-Ake Gustafsson finished fourth in the 1985-1986 season and fifth in the 1988-1989 season.

Kelly Miller finished seventh in the 1990-1991 season, third in the 1991-1992 season, tenth in the 1993-1994 season. Mike Ridley finished tenth in the 1992-1993 season. Adam Oates finished fourth in the 1999-2000 season. Nicklas Backstrom finished tenth in the 2009-2010 season.

Tomorrow, we’ll take a look at the Vezina trophy.