NHL Stanley Cup Winners: Full List & History

Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals Mandatory Credit: Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals Mandatory Credit: Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports /

The Stanley Cup has been awarded 105 times in the trophy’s history. 105 years ago Lord Stanley bestowed it upon the first winning team and it’s been passed from team to team and generation to generation since. And it keeps growing. It’s huge now.

It’s the biggest trophy in sports and the most coveted in my opinion. The Washington Capitals captured it in 2018. They look to win it again but will have to wait till next year.

Here’s a look at every winner of the Stanley Cup in NHL history:

2022: Colorado Avalanche

2021: Tampa Bay Lightning

2020: Tampa Bay Lightning

2019: St. Louis Blues

2018: Washington Capitals

2017: Pittsburgh Penguins

2016 Pittsburgh Penguins

2015: Chicago Blackhawks

2014: Los Angeles Kings

2013: Chicago Blackhawks

2012: Los Angeles Kings

2011: Boston Bruins

2010: Chicago Blackhawks

2009: Pittsburgh Penguins

2008: Detroit Red Wings

2007: Anaheim Ducks

2006: Carolina Hurricanes

2004: Tampa Bay Lightning

2003: New Jersey Devils

2002: Detroit Red Wings

2001: Colorado Avalanche

2000: New Jersey Devils

1999: Dallas Stars

1998: Detroit Red Wings

1997: Detroit Red Wings

1996: Colorado Avalanche

1995: New Jersey Devils

1994: New York Rangers

1993: Montreal Canadiens

1992: Pittsburgh Penguins

1991: Pittsburgh Penguins

1990: Edmonton Oilers

1989: Calgary Flames

1988: Edmonton Oilers

1987: Edmonton Oilers

1986: Montreal Canadiens

1985: Edmonton Oilers

1984: Edmonton Oilers

1983: New York Islanders

1982: New York Islanders

1981: New York Islanders

1980: New York Islanders

1979: Montreal Canadiens

1978: Montreal Canadiens

1977: Montreal Canadiens

1976: Montreal Canadiens

1975: Philadelphia Flyers

1974: Philadelphia Flyers

1973: Montreal Canadiens

1972: Boston Bruins

1971: Montreal Canadiens

1970: Boston Bruins

1969: Montreal Canadiens

1968: Montreal Canadiens

1967: Toronto Maple Leafs

1966: Montreal Canadiens

1965: Montreal Canadiens

1964: Toronto Maple Leafs

1963: Toronto Maple Leafs

1962: Toronto Maple Leafs

1961: Chicago Blackhawks

1960: Montreal Canadiens

1959: Montreal Canadiens

1958: Montreal Canadiens

1957: Montreal Canadiens

1956: Montreal Canadiens

1955: Detroit Red Wings

1954: Detroit Red Wings

1953: Montreal Canadiens

1952: Detroit Red Wings

1951: Toronto Maple Leafs

1950: Detroit Red Wings

1949: Toronto Maple Leafs

1948: Toronto Maple Leafs

1947: Toronto Maple Leafs

1946: Montreal Canadiens

1945: Toronto Maple Leafs

1944: Montreal Canadiens

1943: Detroit Red Wings

1942: Toronto Maple Leafs

1941: Boston Bruins

1940: New York Rangers

1939: Boston Bruins

1938: Chicago Blackhawks

1937: Detroit Red Wings

1936: Detroit Red Wings

1935: Montreal Maroons

1934: Chicago Blackhawks

1933: New York Rangers

1932: Toronto Maple Leafs

1931: Montreal Canadiens

1930: Montreal Canadiens

1929: Boston Bruins

1928: New York Rangers

1927: Ottawa Senators

The Canadiens have won the most Cups with 24 but their last win came in 1993. That’s also the last time a team from Canada won the Cup. The Maple Leafs have 13 but their last Cup win came in 1967 and they haven’t been back since. The Red Wings have the third most with 11 most recently winning in 2008.

light. Hot. NHL Mock Draft 2.0: Who is Getting Connor Bedard?

Who will win the Stanley Cup this year? Will it be someone new or someone returning to glory?